Harry and The Gang--Issue #12

By Tobias Hrothgar

(This story is one that has begun and will probably never be finished. Sorry, but that’s the truth. For similar stories like this look for A Peculiar Undertaking.)

“Leonard, we’ve got a serious issue,” Harry said over the walkie-talkie.

​ “Shoot,” I replied.

​ “Sure thing.” A loud bang echoed through the neighborhood.

​ “I didn’t mean literally, you idiot! I meant for you to state your issue!”

​ “Oh. I’d better head to cover first. Mister Georges probably won’t be too happy about the hole in his roof.”

​ I sighed in exasperation. Every single time my buddies seemed to make everything go wrong. First was the incident with the platypus, then every plan went wrong from then ‘till the fire-hydrant. This had better not fail.

​ “Okay, here’s the problem,” said Harry. “When I said I was clear on my part of the plan I was not exactly, necessarily, in all ways, telling the full truth.”

​ I groaned. This was not going to be a good day.

​ “Also,” Harry continued, “Noman is unconscious.”

​ “How? What happened?”

​ “Well—Let’s just say that he should not have been behind me while I was practicing the sling.”

​ I restrained, with great difficulty, the urge to shatter the walkie-talkie against the road. I knew this was not going to be good. Noman was our brains. He was vitally important to the mission.

​ After a long moment of quiet seething I finally replied to Harry. “Leave Noman behind. We have and ice-cream truck to hijack.”